Social Science

World History 7th Grade: Students in grade seven study the social, cultural, and technological changes that occurred in Europe, Africa, South America, and Asia in the years A.D. 500-1789. After reviewing the ancient world and the ways in which archaeologists and historians uncover the past, students study the history and geography of great civilizations that were developing concurrently throughout the world during medieval and early modern times. They examine the growing economic interaction among civilizations as well as the exchange of ideas, beliefs, technologies, and commodities. Finally, students assess the political forces let loose by the Enlightenment, particularly the rise of democratic ideas, and they learn about the continuing influence of these ideas in the world today.

7th Grade Teachers:
Mrs. Margot Churchill Margot.Churchill@svusd.org Website
Mrs. Megan Dornbush Megan.Dornbush@svusd.org Website
Mr. Charlie Hughes Charlie.Hughes@svusd.org
Mrs. Kerry Nahas Kerry.Nahas@svusd.org Website

 

U.S. History 8th Grade:  Students in grade eight study the ideas, issues, and events from the framing of the Constitution up to the Industrial Revolution. After reviewing the development of America's democratic institutions founded on the Judeo-Christian heritage and English parliamentary traditions, particularly the shaping of the Constitution, students trace the development of American politics, society, culture, and economy and relate them to the emergence of major regional differences. They learn about the challenges facing the new nation, with an emphasis on the causes, courses, and consequences of the Civil War.

8th Grade Teachers:
Mrs. Laurie Ammirato Laurie.Ammirato@svusd.org Website
Ms. Victoria (Tori) Armstrong Victoria.Armstrong@svusd.org
Mrs. Mary Creager Mary.Creager@svusd.org Website
Mr. Brian Fallman Brian.Fallman@svusd.org Website
Mrs. Pat Scofield Pat.Scofield@svusd.org Website
Mr. Dominic Trevino Dominic.Trevino@svusd.org Website