Mathematics

Math 7: This enriched course focuses on the five domains of the Common Core State Standards, emphasizes problem-solving and applying mathematical solutions in realistic settings, and strengthens connections between abstract mathematical concepts and concrete skills. Students will work collaboratively in groups/teams to create solutions-orientated presentations and solve complex projects.  The course facilitates critical thinking, collaboration, and creativity, as well as the student’s ability to communicate his/her mathematical thinking in a variety of modes.

Math 7 Honors: The honors math course prepares students to be successful in Algebra in Grade 8. The course deepens the student’s understanding of the five domains of the Common Core State Standards. The curriculum emphasizes applying problem-solving skills in real-world settings. Students will work collaboratively in groups/teams to create solutions-orientated presentations and solve complex projects.  The course emphasizes critical thinking, collaboration, communication, and creativity. 

7th Grade Teachers:
Mrs. Ann Diabeti Ann.Diabeti@svusd.org
Mr. Robert Gould Robert.Gould@svusd.org Website
Mr. Todd Schulman Todd.Schulman@svusd.org
Mrs. Yvette Steele Yvette.Lohse@svusd.org Website
Mr. Guy Uesugi Guy.Uesugi@svusd.org
 
 

Math 8:  The freshly revamped Math 8 course prepares students for Algebra 1. This course focuses on three areas: (1) formulating and reasoning about expressions and equations, including solving linear equations and systems of equations; (2) grasping the concept of a function and using functions to describe quantitative relationships; (3) analyzing two-and three-dimensional space figures using distance, angle, similarity, and congruence, and understanding and applying the Pythagorean Theorem.

Algebra: This recently revised course focuses on four areas: (1) to deepen and extend understanding of linear and exponential relationships; (2) contrast linear and exponential relationships with each other and engage in methods for analyzing, solving, and using quadratic functions; (3) extend the law of exponents to square and cube roots; and (4) apply linear models to data that exhibit a linear trend. Successful completion of the course generates high school credit. 

8th Grade Teachers:
Mrs. Michele Fallman Michele.Fallman@svusd.org Website
Mr. Robert Gould Robert.Gould@svusd.org Website
Mrs. Andrea Mahindrakar Andrea.Mahindrakar@svusd.org Website
Mrs. Colleen Mathews Colleen.Mathews@svusd.org Website