English

English 7:  English 7 is designed to develop total language usage by integrating listening, speaking, reading, writing, spelling, grammar, and critical thinking skills through a literature-based curriculum consistent with the California Common Core State Standards.  Students read literature from many genres, including both American and culturally diverse works selected from the grade 7 core and extended readings lists.  Student-selected  (and parent-approved) novels as part of the Reading Counts program are also integral to the English 7 curriculum. Writing activities emphasize argumentation, sentence structure, and paragraph development via the writing process. Significant interdisciplinary crossovers and connections are made throughout the year.   

7th Grade Teachers:
Mrs. Sally Ault Sally.Ault@svusd.org Website
Mrs. Lisa Delagarza Lisa.Delagarza@svusd.org Website
Mrs. Diedra Flynn Diedra.Flynn@svusd.org Website
Mrs. Lisa Gordon Lisa.Gordon@svusd.org Website
Mrs. Sue Hall Sue.Hall@svusd.org Website
Mrs. Phyllis Martin Phyllis.Martin@svusd.org Website

 

English 8:  English 8 is designed to develop total language usage by integrating listening, speaking, reading, writing, spelling, grammar, and critical thinking skills through a literature-based curriculum consistent with the California Common Core State Standards.  Students work with both literary and complex nonfiction texts representing a variety of genres. They also will interact with a mixture of both American and culturally diverse works, selected from the grade 8 core and extended works list.  Student-selected (and parent-approved) novels as part of the Reading Counts Program are also integral to the program.  Composition activities review instruction in the steps of the writing process, with emphasis on writing fluency, content, and argumentation. Significant interdisciplinary crossovers and connections are made throughout the year.

8th Grade Teachers:
Mrs. Mary Creager Mary.Creager@svusd.org Website
Mr. James Giraud James.Giraud@svusd.org
Mrs. Lisa Gordon Lisa.Gordon@svusd.org Website
Mrs. Kathryn Kliewer Kathryn.Kliewer@svusd.org Website
Mrs. Phyllis Martin Phyllis.Martin@svusd.org Website
Mr. Theodore (Ted) Mills Theodore.Mills@svusd.org Website
Mrs. Kristen Pastick Kristen.Pastick@svusd.org Website
 
 

Placement in ELD support or mainstream courses is based on CELDT levels, teacher recommendation, grades, and other appropriate assessments.

ELD 1 & 2:  This class introduces non-English proficient students to the English language, American culture, school procedures, and good study skills.  Students will learn basic English vocabulary and grammatical structures.  They are also taught how to read, write, and speak English through various instructional activities.  In addition, the English learner will become acquainted with American traditions and customs and prepare for the CELDT test. Students will be graded with quizzes, tests, finals, and Reading Counts.

ELD 3 & 4: This class is for ELD students who have met the standards for ELD 1 and 2.  These students are placed in a mainstream English 7 or English 8 course with additional support. Please refer to the course description of English 7 and 8 for more information on the curriculum/content area.

ELD students are placed in mainstream elective, PE, and core classes.  Instruction will be differentiated to meet the need of the English learner. In addition, the ELD students will have support from the EL coordinator and aide.  Please refer to the course description of science, math, and history of the particular grade for more information on curriculum/content area. 

7th and 8th Grade Teacher:

Mrs. Lisa Gordon Lisa.Gordon@svusd.org Website